top of page

EDFD459 Coming To An End...

Before beginning this unit, I didn’t realise how big of an impact learning spaces had on my teaching and the students education. I have learnt so much about myself as a teacher and the different benefits of each learning space. Understanding that learning spaces are all around us, with some created intentionally, some not. Right now I am sitting on my lounge typing away with my music playing, I now know that this is a learning space I am in, because I am learning and engaged in what I am doing.

The technological learning space is definitely something that was very daunting to me as someone who would not consider herself web or technology savvy at all. I am very pleased to now be confidently using my PLN as a means of communication. I am often surprised at how familiar I have become at using something I would’ve never considered a possibility 12 weeks ago. As well as basing around a PLN, before this course I had only heard of web 2.0 Technology in a core subject for EDFD last year. In that course we created a very basic website using Weebly surrounding an imaginary topic, I got to the end of that 12 weeks still not understanding really what Web 2.0 Technology was. I’m very pleased to say that this time around I do know what it is, and am actually embracing and enjoying using it.

Through this course we have learnt about communities of practice by becoming one ourselves. Our in depth discussions, blogs and PLN communications have been interesting and expanded our knowledge on the subject at hand. Learning about the liminal space was something also very interesting to me as I believe I have been essential in understanding how we can create our own learning spaces that engage all learners, despite where they may be. All of this information and new knowledge is something I cannot wait to take into my new practice and future teaching experiences. I am excited to see what the future learning spaces might entail… I feel something extreme is about to happen with technology and our future learning spaces… but we’ll have to wait and see.


bottom of page