top of page

Reflection of the course EDFD459 so far from Weeks 1-5...

Two aha moments…

The first 'aha' moment that comes to mind would be when I realised... oh so that is what a PLN is!! It took me quite a while to fully grasp the idea and the understanding of what we were being asked to develop. Now that my PLN is on its way I am really enjoying the process so far!

Also, it is safe to say it did take me until now to completely understand this subject and the purpose for my learning throughout. It wasn’t until speaking to a friend of mine who had completed this subject last year where I went … “aha it’s not as scary as I thought” and "oh so thats the purpose of these assessment tasks"​. I thought online learning was extremely difficult at first, however if I remain to stay on task and set aside time each week to check the general discussions, complete my e-tivities and update my PLN, I will be okay!

Two challenging moments… I feel as if the most difficult aspect I am still to this day struggling to grasp is that I can’t be ahead of the content and I can’t be ahead in the assessment tasks. I am learning that with this subject it is all about the engagement and the way you participate with your peers rather than the ticking off of assessment tasks and completing the readings. This has been quite a challenge for me as it wasn’t until now where I understood the content of the assessment tasks and grasped an idea of what will be actually involved in them. This style of learning is definitely brand new to me, but as I am currently completing another online unit this semester, I am embracing myself in a new learning space and style of education.

bottom of page